Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC Articles
former players association
Former Players Association logo

One legacy that emerged from the Aberdeen FC Centenary year in 2003 was the formation of the Aberdeen FC Former Players association. While several clubs particularly in England have developed similar schemes, the Aberdeen Association grew in its first year, with almost 200 members made up of players who have played for the Dons in the past. These players the clubs feels still have an important role to play and they can benefit from still being part of Aberdeen Football Club.

The association was the brainchild of AFC Heritage Trust Secretary Chris Gavin and was established with a working committee headed up by former Aberdeen FC player Duncan Davidson as Chairman supported by former Aberdeen FC players Jimmy Wilson and Ally Shewan. A new committee was formed in March 2018 and is made up of former Aberdeen FC players Jim George, Walker McCall, Steve Tosh and Jim Whyte, AFC Heritage Trust trustee Derek Giles and volunteer Stewart Eaton. 

The Aberdeen FC Former Players association was formed on 26th November 2003, and membership remains open to all former Aberdeen FC players.


latest news


contact us

latest news

Aberdeen FC Former Players Association Golf Outing - 14th June 2019

The Aberdeen FC Former Players Association will hold their annual golf outing at Craibstone Golf Club on Friday 14th June 2019.

Aberdeen FC Former Players Association Golf Outing - 14th September 2018

The Aberdeen FC Former Players Association held their annual golf outing at Craibstone Golf Club on Friday 14th September 2018.

Tattie's Trophy was up for grabs for the first time at Craibstone Golf Course, with Tenaris Global Services - a team made up of 1990 Scottish Cup winner Graham Watson, Mike Ritchie, Darren Chilton and Mike Halliday - emerging as the winners. They received the trophy from Neale Cooper's sister, Shirley Blake.

Club record goal scorer, Joe Harper, Jocky Scott, Bobby Street, Kevin McNaughton, Darren Mackie, Jimmy Wilson, John Gardiner, Walker McCall, Graham Watson, Jim George, Bobby Wilson, Ron Day and Mike Metcalf were the former Dons who competed on the day.

The AFCFPA would like to thank the following for supporting their golf day: Saltire Energy (who donated the Neale Cooper Memorial Trophy), Aberdeen FC, AFC Community Trust, CNR International, Graeme Kennedy Builders Ltd, Hall Morrice, Healthy Business Healthy You, Ian McIntosh, Rolands Supplies and Services, Tenaris Global Services, Tetra Technologies and all of the staff at Craibstone Golf Course.

Neale Cooper - 28th May 2018

We have lost someone today who was very much one of our own, supporter, ballboy, player, winner and huge character around Pittodrie, Neale Cooper will be missed by all who play for, played for or support the Dons. Our sincere condolences go to Neale's family.