Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1930-31 fixture list
Aberdeenshire Cup First Round 
Aberdeen 2 - 1 Aberdeen University
Kick Off:  2:30 PM   Paterson, David 60.       Cumming.  
Attendance: 0
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Aberdeenshire Cup

'Varsity's Plucky Show at Pittodrie.

Aberdeen 'Varsitv put up a surprisingly good display against Aberdeen A at Pittodrie yesterday afternoon in the first round of the Aberdeenshire Cup competition.
The young Dons won by the odd goal in three, but right until the final whiste the students fought back.
Although hard and slippery state of the ground was all against good football, the interest was maintained throughout. The students held their own in the first period, and were well worth their goal, netted by Cumming off a defender.
A clever movement led to Dickie heading the equaliser, and honours were even at half time.

A Lucky Goal.

Fifteen minutes after the resumption a shot by David, which was going past, was deflected into the net by Cantley.
Although the 'Varsity never lay down, Aberdeen A's training told during this period, and the visitors' goal had several narrow escapes. Towards the close, however, the students rallied, and both Cameron and Cumming came near equalising.
The 'Varsity defence, in which Milton, Patterson, and Sharpe were prominent battled gamely. The attack played a nice swinging game, which was in direct contrast to the close work the Pittodrie quintette. In this department the students' best were Sutherland, Cummings and Cameron.
Aberdeen A, whose display was by no means impressive, was best served by Legge, Donald, Robertson, Oliphant, Burke, Dickie and Paterson.

Source: Press & Journal, 6th January 1931

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Cumming, Shannon, Legge, Donald, Robertson, , Warnock, Paterson, David, Dickie, Burke.

Unused Subs:


Aberdeen University Teamsheet:  J.C.Glennie, G.J.G.Milton, R.S.Patterson, J.G.Sharpe, A.Cantlay, V.J.Eddie, J.A.Bowyer, J.D.Dallas, J.M.Cumming, D.Sutherland, J.C.Cameron.


Referee: Peter Craigmyle (Aberdeen).

Related Links: