Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1931-32 fixture list
Scottish Alliance League 
Aberdeen 2 - 0 Heart of Midlothian
Kick Off:    Jackson 35, Jackson 50.        
Attendance: 6,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Aberdeen Reserves In Form
Hearts reserves' unbeaten record went by the board at Pittodrie on Saturday, when Aberdeen triumphed by two goals to nil.

The Pittodrie second string gave a much-improved display, and fully merited their victory. Jackson, the Aberdeen left back who was tried at centre-forward, did quite well, and was responsible for both goals.
Legge, Fraser. and Falloon were outstanding in a sound defence, and Dickie and Devlin, along with Jackson, were best in attack. Aberdeen made the running from the start, and Dickie shot past and Jackson struck the post.
The Hearts attack got little chance to shine, and fifteen minutes had gone before Cumming handled the ball, from Coutts.
The visitors improved, and Marshall headed over, and Cumming saved from O'Neill (J.).
Aberdeen retaliated on the left, and Jackson missed narrowly.
With thirty-five minutes gone, Jackson let Warnock away and dashed forward to meet the winger's return and give Aberdeen the lead.
Exchanges were even until the interval.

Aberdeen resumed confidently, and Crosskey did well to fist clear from Fraser. Five minutes after the restart, Jackson accepted a Devlin slip to increase the home lead.
Subsequent exchanges were fairly evenly distributed. Crosskey held from Jackson, and at the other end Cumming fisted out a shot by Cunningham.
Towards the close Hearts tried desperately to reduce the leeway, but a sound home defence and weak shooting on the part of the Tynecastle forwards kept them from counting. Attendance, 6,000.

Source: Press & Journal, 14th September 1931

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Cumming, McGill, Legge, Fraser, Falloon, Donald, Warnock, Dickie, Jackson, Devlin, David.

Unused Subs:


Heart of Midlothian Teamsheet:  Crosskey; Pratt, T. O'Neill; Marshallshay, Cunningham, Higgins; J. O'Neill, J. Smith, Marshall, Coutts, T. Miller


Referee: H. G. McArthur, Airdrie

Related Links: