Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1999-00 fixture list
League Cup Quarter Final 
Aberdeen 1 - 0 Rangers
Kick Off:  7:45 PM   Dow 118.        
Attendance: 12,108
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Semi For Dons as they Knock Gers out of Cup
Aberdeen reached the semi-final of the CIS Insurance Cup, beating holders Rangers 1-0 thanks to a 118th minute winner from Andy Dow.

The Dons were under increasing pressure throughout the match, apart from a spell in the second half when they were firmly in control. New siging Arild Stavrum got himself into some brilliant positions but couldn't finish off any chances. Rangers came close on numerous occasions in the first half through Amoruso, McCann and more notably Barry Ferguson.
The second half was more of the same, with Rangers continuing to pressurize the Dons defence, McCann and Ferguson coming close. With only one minute remaining in the match, Rangers thought they had won it when the ball looked to have crossed the line, but after closer inspection it appeared that the whole ball was not over, and the Don's bacon was saved.

Extra-time started and the game continued in the same pattern as the second half with unbelievable pressure from Rangers. Jim Leighton pulled off one of the saves of the season, stopping a Barry Ferguson diving header from point-blank range to deny the Scotland international a goal.

Aberdeen's only real chance of the extra-time period ended with a goal, when ANDY DOW popped up to slam the ball into the roof of the net from close range, after Thomas Myhre had saved well. Aberdeen held out to win the game 1-0 and hopefully, the overdue victory will have installed some confidence into the team who are propping up the SPL at present.

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Leighton, Anderson, McAllister, Whyte, Cobian (Perry), Guntveit (Belabed), Jess (Rutkiewicz), Bernard, Dow, Winters, Stavrum.

Unused Subs: Esson, Gillies.

Bookings:  Whyte,  Bernard.

Rangers Teamsheet:  Myhre, Amoruso, Numan, Ferguson, Kanchelskis, Bronkhorst, McCann, Wilson, Johansson, Nicholson, Durie


Referee: S. Dougal, Burnside

Related Links: