Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1941-42 fixture list
Benefit Match 
Aberdeen 1 - 3 Scottish Command
    Played to raise funds for War Charities
Kick Off:  7:00 PM   Gourlay.       Walker, Campbell, Walker  
Attendance: 6,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Clever Play at Pittodrie
Scottish Command deserved their victory in a war charities game at Pittodrie last night, but it was well into the second half before they asserted their superiority. Ten minutes after the start Aberdeen lost the services of Flt. Lt. Topping of Notts Forest, who suffered a head injury when in collision with Sutherland, the Command centre-half. C. R. Adkin, a former Wolverhampton player, deputised. Aberdeen led at the interval by a goal scored by Gourlay. Chief credit for the point goes to Dunlop, the home right-half. He sent over a high ball, which Harper, the Command goalkeeper, failed to clear, and Gourlay tapped it into the net.


Half-way through the second half Scottish Command equalised through Tommy Walker. Campbell followed with a second, and the third goal, the best of the match, came from Walker, a typical effort. It was not a strenuous game by any means, but there was some very clever football, especially by the Command team in the last half hour. Tommy Walker was the best forward afield. Other outstanding players in the Command team were Hardisty of Wolves at right-half and Howe of Derby County at left-back. Aberdeen were thrown out of gear by the enforced rearrangement of the attack. Their best were Moody, Cooper, Dunlop, Pattillo, Gourlay and Graham. There were close on 6000 spectators.

Source: Press & Journal, 5th May 1942

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Moody, Cooper, Dyer, Dunlop, Pattillo, Taylor, Topping (R. Adkin 10), G. Graham, Darby, Gourlay, Dryden.

Unused Subs:


Scottish Command Teamsheet:  Harper (Gainsborough); Carabine (Third Lanark), Howe (Derby County); Hardisty (Wolves & Hibs, Sutherland (Partick Thistle), Collier (Third Lanark); Floyd (Army), Walker (Hearts), Campbell (Falkirk), Matheson (Benburb), Deakin (St Mirren)


Referee: P. Craigmyle, Aberdeen

Related Links: