Saving layout

One Moment...

Resetting layout

One Moment...

Customise your homepage

Drag each panel to set your preferred order. Click the eye icon to toggle the visibility of the panel. You can reset the layout by clicking the 'Default' button above.
On This Day
Social History
Match Centre / League Table
Players / Managers / HOF
The Aberdeen Collection
Squad (Hidden)
Profile / Dark Blue Dons / Wartime Dons
Results / Pittodrie Stadium
RedTV / Milestones

Aberdeen 2 - 1 Celtic

HT Score: Aberdeen 1 - 0 Celtic

Drybrough Cup Final
Aberdeen scorers: Robb, Harper (Pen).
Celtic scorers: Hughes

07/08/1971 | KO: 15:00


PENALTY prince Joe Harper was the man who won the inaugural Drybrough Cup tournament for Aberdeen by netting a spot-kick winner against Celtic in the final at Pittodrie Stadium last August. But the 'eventual League champions were perhaps flattered by the 2-1 scoreline, for the Dons' skilful teamwork at speed gave them a clear edge- and the only flaw on their performance was failure to take the many chances they created. Dave Robb headed an Arthur Graham cross against the post with keeper Evan Williams beaten in the fifth minute, but the Pittodrie pair combined successfully in the 20th minute to produce- a textbook opening goal. Graham, sent clear by Joe Harper on the left, crossed low to the near post and Robb pounced to stab the ball into the back of the net. The substitution of Jimmy Johnstone for Vic Davidson in the 58th minute was a clear indication that Celtic were unhappy with the trend of play, and they equalised almost immediately before Johnstone had had a touch of the ball. John Hughes heading home a Kenny Dalglish cross. But the Dons were not to be denied, and in the 63rd minute they were awarded a penalty when Tom Callaghan brought down Harper. Joe picked himself up and despatched the spot kick into the corner of the 'net. Williams, anticipating the direction, got a hand to the ball but could not stop this trophy-winning counter.

Source: Programe for Aberdeen v St Mirren, 29th July 1972

Aberdeen Teamsheet
Clark, Boel, Hermiston, Murray, Young, Buchan, Buchan, Robb, Harper, Willoughby, Graham.

Unused Subs: Murray.
Celtic Teamsheet
Williams, Craig, Hay, Callaghan, McNeill, Connelly, Dalglish, Hood, Macari, Davidson (Johnstone), Hughes.
Attendance: 25,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
Referee: I. M. D. Foote, Glasgow
Next Match
20 Apr 2024 / 15:00 / Hampden Park, Glasgow