Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1971-72 fixture list
Drybrough Cup Final 
Aberdeen 2 - 1 Celtic
Kick Off:  3:00 PM   Robb, Harper (Pen).       Hughes  
Attendance: 25,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
PENALTY prince Joe Harper was the man who won the inaugural Drybrough Cup tournament for Aberdeen by netting a spot-kick winner against Celtic in the final at Pittodrie Stadium last August. But the 'eventual League champions were perhaps flattered by the 2-1 scoreline, for the Dons' skilful teamwork at speed gave them a clear edge- and the only flaw on their performance was failure to take the many chances they created. Dave Robb headed an Arthur Graham cross against the post with keeper Evan Williams beaten in the fifth minute, but the Pittodrie pair combined successfully in the 20th minute to produce- a textbook opening goal. Graham, sent clear by Joe Harper on the left, crossed low to the near post and Robb pounced to stab the ball into the back of the net. The substitution of Jimmy Johnstone for Vic Davidson in the 58th minute was a clear indication that Celtic were unhappy with the trend of play, and they equalised almost immediately before Johnstone had had a touch of the ball. John Hughes heading home a Kenny Dalglish cross. But the Dons were not to be denied, and in the 63rd minute they were awarded a penalty when Tom Callaghan brought down Harper. Joe picked himself up and despatched the spot kick into the corner of the 'net. Williams, anticipating the direction, got a hand to the ball but could not stop this trophy-winning counter.

Source: Programe for Aberdeen v St Mirren, 29th July 1972

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Clark, Boel, Hermiston, Murray, Young, Buchan, Buchan, Robb, Harper, Willoughby, Graham.

Unused Subs: Murray.


Celtic Teamsheet:  Williams, Craig, Hay, Callaghan, McNeill, Connelly, Dalglish, Hood, Macari, Davidson (Johnstone), Hughes.


Referee: I. M. D. Foote, Glasgow

Related Links:
Watch Highlights on RedTV (Subscription Required)