Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1942-43 fixture list
North Eastern Supplementary Cup 
Aberdeen 6 - 1 Dunfermline Athletic
Kick Off:  2:45 PM   Gourlay 7, Pattillo 13, Pattillo 15, Pattillo 29, Ancell 55, Ancell 56.       Walker 65  
Attendance: 12,000
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
WITH an aggregate of thirty-five goals against the loss of seven, Aberdeen for the second year in succession have won the North-Eastern League Supplementary Cup.

They defeated Dunfermline Athletic by 9-3 in the final, beating the Fifers by 6-1 in the second game at Pittodrie.
The Done gave a brilliant exhibition on Saturday. There was no holding them. Dunfermline, who had put up a strong challenge the previous week, were made to look a very ordinary side. Better teams than they would have shared the same fate.
There was perfect understanding in tne ranks of the Dons. The ball moved from man to man with great accuracy. The way they developed and thrust home their attacks won the admiration all.


They were truly merciful their treatment of the opposition. In comparison, the Athletic were unbalanced and struggling from start to finish.
There is no need to individualise so far as the Aberdeen players are concerned. All played at the top their form.
Pattlllo's hat-trick was cleverly accomplished. Ancell had two fine goals from the wing and Gourlay also scored. Dunfermline's only counter was got by Walker.
"Aberdeen remind me of the 51st Division - they are collecting so many trophies," said Mr John A. McArthur, president of the North-eastern League, when he unfurled Aberdeen's second League championship flag before the start of the match.
The cup was handed over after the match to Willie Cooper, the Dons' captain, by Mr Douglas Bowie, president the S.F.A. Mr Bowie's congratulations to the club, expressed in the board room afterwards were supplemented by Mr McArthur. Mr George G. Graham, secretary the Association, and Mr Robert Wylie, the Dunfermline chairman. Mr Wm. Mitchell, chairman, replied on Aberdeen's behalf.

Source: Press & Journal, 28th December 1942

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Johnstone, Cooper, Dyer, Dunlop, Gavin, Taylor, Ancell, Gourlay, Pattillo, Ferguson, Dryden.

Unused Subs:


Dunfermline Athletic Teamsheet:  Wallace; Hogg, Cameron; O'Neil, Hart, Forbes; Harrower, McGillvray, Neill, Walker, Dougan


Referee: J. Godfrey, Stenhousemuir

Related Links: