Click here to go back to the AFC Heritage Trust Homepage Aberdeen Football Club Heritage Trust Logo  
AFC - Match Report
match report 1912-13 fixture list
Aberdeenshire Cup Final 
Aberdeen 4 - 0 Fraserburgh
Kick Off:  3:30 PM   Walker, Neilson, McIntosh, Neilson.        
Attendance: 0
Venue: Pittodrie Stadium, Aberdeen
County Cup For Aberdeen Disappointing Game
The final of the Aberdeenshire Cup between Aberdeen and Fraserburgh at Pittodrie on Saturday was a disappointing affair, the cup going to Aberdeen, the holders, by 4 goals to 0. Never at any stage during the game was the play worthy of the occasion, and the fact that the receipts totalled about 50 was the only satisfactory feature of the day. Fraserburgh had out their best team, but Aberdeen were also strongly represented. As it proved the result was not a proper criterion of the run of play, Aberdeen's margin of four clear goals flattered them considerably, and, indeed, it would only have been in keeping with the order of things if a solitary goal had divided the teams at the close. Aberdeen started off strongly, but weak finishing nullified several likely chances. H "Smith" in particular was often at fault. For a time the Buchan team held out well, but ultimately Walker opened the scoring. This was all the scoring in the first half.

In the second period Fraserburgh opened well, but they were weak at close quarters. Their goal ran several narrow escapes, and J. H. Neilson had a shot which hit the crossbar. Ultimately C. Neilson scored, and the Fraserburgh defence cracked up after this, and goals fell to McIntosh and J. H. Neilson, the points being the outcome of rather glaring errors by the visitors' goalkeeper. On the whole Aberdeen deserve to win, but not by 4-0.

Source: Aberdeen Daily Journal, 10th March 1913

Aberdeen Teamsheet:  Greig, Hannah, Low, Robertson, Watson, Keith, Murray, Neilson, McIntosh, Walker, Neilson.

Unused Subs:


Fraserburgh Teamsheet:  Gibb; Finnie, Tait; Lamont, Birnie, Simpson; McDonald, Paterson, John McNab, Whyte, James McNab


Referee: Mr Booth, Aberdeen

Related Links: